AIAA Greater Huntsville Section 2023 Awards Dinner

The AIAA Greater Huntsville Section hosted its section awards dinner for 2022-2023 on Saturday, May 20th at the Jackson Center. This event honored GHS members who received awards from AIAA at the national level and recipients of local awards given annually by the section. The full event program with awardee's bios can be found <u>here</u>. Chris Crumbly, the vice president for digital enterprise advancement at Victory Solutions, served as the keynote speaker. Awards were given out by Honors and Awards Director, Dr. Joe Majdalani, with Jackie Dannenberg presenting the Konrad Dannenberg Educator of the Year award and the Trailblazing STEM Educator award.

List of awards and award winners:

The Sustained Service Award from AIAA is presented to recognize sustained, significant service and contributions to AIAA by members of the Institute.

2023 AIAA Sustained Service Award: Dawn Phillips

The Abe Zarem Educator of the Year award is given to the faculty advisor of the student winner of the Abe Zarem Graduate Award for Distinguished Achievement (Aeronautics or Astronautics) to recognize the faculty member's role in guiding and mentoring the student.

2022 Abe Zarem Educator of the Year: Dr. Joe Majdalani

The Trailblazing STEM Educator award from AIAA and the Challenger Learning Center celebrates K-12 teachers who go above and beyond to inspire the next generation of explorers and innovators.

2023 Trailblazing STEM Educator: Taylor Whisenant

Each year the AIAA Space Systems Technical Committee (SSTC) sponsors an essay contest for 7th and 8th grade students. The theme for this year's contest was the James Webb Space Telescope.

2023 Space Systems Technical Committee Essay Contest Winner (7th grade): Anna Wallace

2023 Space Systems Technical Committee Essay Contest Winner (8th grade): Maia Shadrick

Each year the AIAA GHS sponsors two special awards at the North Alabama Regional Science and Engineering Fair held at the University of Alabama Huntsville.

2023 North Alabama Regional Science and Engineering Fair (7th grade GHS Award): Leland Barbour

2023 North Alabama Regional Science and Engineering Fair (8th grade GHS Award): Makaila Jennings

The \$1000 Robert L. Sackheim scholarship, named for the late industry giant and Section member Bob Sackheim, promotes careers in the aerospace industry by encouraging students to pursue a related engineering or science degree. Candidates must be high school seniors living within the Greater Huntsville Section area (comprising of the State of Alabama and most counties in Mississippi), entering an accredited university in the Greater Huntsville Section area, and pursuing a degree in engineering, the sciences, or mathematics, to bolster the future of the aeronautics and astronautics industries.

2022 Robert L. Sackheim Scholarship: Charles Smith

2023 Robert L. Sackheim Scholarship: Jordan Holland

The AIAA GHS undergraduate student of the year award is given to an undergraduate student in recognition of notable technical accomplishments, active engineering research, outstanding service to the AIAA student section, or active STEM outreach in the local community.

2023 Undergraduate Student of the Year: Colin Bamford

This AIAA GHS graduate student of the year award is given to a graduate student in recognition of notable technical accomplishments, active engineering research, outstanding service to the AIAA student section, or active STEM outreach in the local community.

2023 Graduate Student of the Year: Cody Shelton

The AIAA GHS Ed Pruett Young Professional of the Year award is in recognition of a member of 35 years of age or younger who has demonstrated extraordinary technical skill and dedication in the Aerospace Engineering profession.

2023 Ed Pruett Young Professional of the Year Award: Kevin Albarado

Konrad Dannenberg was a German-American rocket pioneer and an avid proponent of education. He was also a very active AIAA member. This award is in recognition of outstanding service to education and promotion of math and science within the AIAA GHS community.

2023 Konrad Dannenberg Educator of the Year Award: Dr. Robert Frederick, Jr.

The Earl Pearce Professional of the Year award is in recognition of extraordinary dedication, creativity, and leadership while engaged in professional work or activity within the aerospace community.

2023 Earl Pearce Professional of the Year Award: Jayme Allgood

The Martin Schilling award is named for the Section's founding president. The award is given in recognition of outstanding service to the Section, such as major contributions to its growth, technical programs, or administrative functions.

2023 Martin Schilling Award: Robin Osborne

The Holger Toftoy award is given in recognition of outstanding technical management in the fields of aeronautics and astronautics.

2023 Holger Toftoy Award: William H. (Bill) Knuth

The Hermann Oberth award is given in recognition of outstanding individual scientific achievement in the fields of astronautics and space sciences and the promotion and advancement of the aeronautical sciences.

2023 Hermann Oberth Award: Jody Singer



AIAA Greater Huntsville Section 2022-2023 Award Recipients at the awards dinner. Front row (L-R): Taylor Whisenant (STEM Trailblazing Educator of the Year), Colin Bamford (undergraduate student of the year), Chris Crumbly (keynote speaker, accepting Oberth award on behalf of Jody Singer), Dr. Robert Frederick, Jr. (Konrad Dannenberg Educator of the Year), Charles Smith (2022 Robert L. Sackheim Scholarship), Kevin Albarado (Ed Pruett Young Professional of the Year), Jayme Allgood (Earl Pearce Professional of the Year).

Back row (L-R): Leland Barbour (7th grade AIAA GHS award at North Alabama Regional Science and Engineering Fair), Robin Osborne (Martin Schilling award), Jordan Holland (2023 Robert L. Sackheim Scholarship), Anna Wallace (7th grade Space Systems Technical Committee essay contest winner), Maia Shadrick (8th grade Space Systems Technical Committee essay contest winner).